Coverart for item
The Resource Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay

Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay

Label
Year of the orphan : a novel
Title
Year of the orphan
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Daniel Findlay
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The Road meets Mad Max in this stunning debut- also for fans of Station 11, The Passage, and Riddley Walker. In a post-apocalyptic future where survivors scavenge in the harsh Australian Outback for spoils from a buried civilization, a girl races across the desert, holding her treasures close, pursued by the Reckoner. Riding her sand ship, living rough in the blasted landscape, she scouts the broken infrastructure and trades her scraps at the only known settlement, a ramshackle fortress of greed, corruption, and disease known as the System. It is an outpost whose sole purpose is survival-refuge from the hulking eyeless things they call Ghosts and other creatures that hunt beyond the fortress walls. Sold as a child, then raised hard in the System, the Orphan has a mission. She carries secrets about the destruction that brought the world to its knees. And she's about to discover that the past still holds power over the present. Given an impossible choice, will the Orphan save the only home she knows or see it returned to dust? Both paths lead to blood, but whose will be spilled?"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Findlay, Daniel
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.F575
LC item number
Y43 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Orphans
  • Dystopias
  • Survival after airplane accidents, shipwrecks, etc
  • Dystopian fiction
  • Science fiction
Label
Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published in Australia in 2017 by Penguin Random House Australia Pty Ltd."--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2018055716
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First North American edition.
Extent
282 pages
Isbn
9781628729924
Lccn
2018055716
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Year of the orphan : a novel, Daniel Findlay
Publication
Note
Originally published in Australia in 2017 by Penguin Random House Australia Pty Ltd."--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2018055716
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First North American edition.
Extent
282 pages
Isbn
9781628729924
Lccn
2018055716
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Marion Public LibraryBorrow it
      1095 Sixth Avenue, Marion, IA, 52302, US
      42.032284 -91.59893
Processing Feedback ...