Coverart for item
The Resource Unraveling Oliver : a novel, Liz Nugent

Unraveling Oliver : a novel, Liz Nugent

Label
Unraveling Oliver : a novel
Title
Unraveling Oliver
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Liz Nugent
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community-and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware. "I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her." So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel--a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil. Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease--until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma. In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation. With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is "a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense" (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath"--
  • "A brilliant, compulsively readable debut novel -- and a #1 bestseller in the author's native Ireland -- about the truth behind a shocking act of savagery, and the profound lies and deceptions that come to light in its wake"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Nugent, Liz
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6114.U365
LC item number
U57 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Marital violence
  • Wife abuse
  • Psychological fiction
  • Domestic fiction
  • Suspense fiction
Label
Unraveling Oliver : a novel, Liz Nugent
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn962006346
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
260 pages
Isbn
9781501167751
Lccn
2017000051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)962006346
Label
Unraveling Oliver : a novel, Liz Nugent
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn962006346
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
260 pages
Isbn
9781501167751
Lccn
2017000051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)962006346

Library Locations

    • CRPL-Downtown LibraryBorrow it
      450 5th Avenue SE, Cedar Rapids, IA, 52401, US
      41.976964 -91.6624043
    • Marion Public LibraryBorrow it
      1095 Sixth Avenue, Marion, IA, 52302, US
      42.032284 -91.59893
Processing Feedback ...