Coverart for item
The Resource The center of everything, Laura Moriarty

The center of everything, Laura Moriarty

Label
The center of everything
Title
The center of everything
Statement of responsibility
Laura Moriarty
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From the Publisher: A dazzling debut in the tradition of Jane Hamilton and Mona Simpson. In Laura Moriarty's extraordinary first novel, a young girl tries to make sense of an unruly world spinning around her. Growing up with a single mother who is chronically out of work and dating a married man, 10-year old Evelyn Bucknow learns early how to fend for herself. Offering an affecting portrayal of a troubled mother/daughter relationship, one in which the daughter is very often expected to play the role of the adult, the novel also gives readers a searing rendering of the claustrophobia of small town Midwestern life, as seen through the eyes of a teenage girl. Evelyn must come to terms with the heartbreaking lesson of first love-that not all loves are meant to be-and determine who she is and who she wants to be. Stuck in the middle of Kansas, between best friends, and in the midst of her mother's love, Evelyn finds herself-in The Center of Everything
Cataloging source
IUK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Moriarty, Laura
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3613.O75
LC item number
C46 2003
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Girls
  • Kansas
  • First loves
  • Grandmothers
  • Single mothers
  • Gifted children
  • Mothers and daughters
  • Domestic fiction
  • Bildungsromans
Label
The center of everything, Laura Moriarty
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
ocm55996867
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
1st pbk. ed.
Extent
vi, 339 p.
Isbn
9780786888450
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2002032898
System control number
(OCoLC)55996867
Label
The center of everything, Laura Moriarty
Publication
Control code
ocm55996867
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
1st pbk. ed.
Extent
vi, 339 p.
Isbn
9780786888450
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2002032898
System control number
(OCoLC)55996867

Library Locations

    • CRPL-Downtown LibraryBorrow it
      450 5th Avenue SE, Cedar Rapids, IA, 52401, US
      41.976964 -91.6624043
Processing Feedback ...