Coverart for item
The Resource Lady of the English

Lady of the English

Label
Lady of the English
Title
Lady of the English
Creator
Subject
Summary
From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexesMatilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men. Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time. Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate. Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown—a woman!What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chadwick, Elizabeth
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
  • Historical Fiction
Label
Lady of the English
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8e3cd129-35e3-40a0-b011-931dc5cedf92
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781402250934
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Lady of the English
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8e3cd129-35e3-40a0-b011-931dc5cedf92
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781402250934
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Hiawatha Public LibraryBorrow it
      150 West Willman Street, Hiawatha, IA, 52233, US
      42.037121 -91.672304
Processing Feedback ...