Coverart for item
The Resource HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world, written by Katherine Halligan ; illustrated by Sarah Walsh

HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world, written by Katherine Halligan ; illustrated by Sarah Walsh

Label
HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world
Title
HerStory
Title remainder
50 women and girls who shook up the world
Statement of responsibility
written by Katherine Halligan ; illustrated by Sarah Walsh
Title variation
Her story
Creator
Contributor
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Move aside history--it's time for herstory. Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that's perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted. Throughout history, girls have often been discussed in terms of what they couldn't or shouldn't do. Not anymore. It's time for herstory--a celebration of not only what girls can do, but the remarkable things women have already accomplished, even when others tried to stop them. In this uplifting and inspiring book, follow the stories of fifty powerhouse women from around the world and across time who each managed to change the world as they knew it forever. Telling the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced, and the impact of their achievements, each lavishly illustrated spread is a celebration of girl power in its many forms. From astronauts to activists, musicians to mathematicians, these women are sure to motivate young readers of all backgrounds to focus not on the can'ts and shouldn'ts, but on what they can do: anything!"--
Has edition
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
collective biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Halligan, Katherine
Dewey number
  • 920.72
  • B
  • 920.72
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
Intended audience
Age: 8+
LC call number
HQ1123
LC item number
.H35 2018
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Walsh, Sarah
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Families
  • Women
  • Women
  • Family life
  • Women
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world, written by Katherine Halligan ; illustrated by Sarah Walsh
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Originally published under title: HerStory: 50 Women and Girls Who Shook the World
  • Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2018016718
Dimensions
30 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
112 pages
Isbn
9781534436640
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2018016718
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color)
Label
HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world, written by Katherine Halligan ; illustrated by Sarah Walsh
Publication
Note
  • Originally published under title: HerStory: 50 Women and Girls Who Shook the World
  • Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2018016718
Dimensions
30 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
112 pages
Isbn
9781534436640
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2018016718
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color)

Library Locations

    • Ladd LibraryBorrow it
      3750 Williams Blvd. SW, Cedar Rapids, IA, 52404, US
      41.952174 -91.7193209
    • Marion Public LibraryBorrow it
      1095 Sixth Avenue, Marion, IA, 52302, US
      42.032284 -91.59893
Processing Feedback ...